(Updated: December 4, 2013; October 13, 2011)

Article I. NAME
The name of the Association shall be the Association of Korean Neuroscientists.

The purpose of the Association shall be to promote research and education in the Neurosciences for neuroscientists of Korean origin residing in North America and to encourage interactions among the members.

Section 1. Members.
The Association shall consist of two classes of members: regular members and overseas members. Membership will be approved by the Council.

Section 2. Regular members.
Any neuroscientist residing in North America who wishes to promote research and education in the Neurosciences for Korean neuroscientists is eligible.

Section 3. Overseas Members.
Any neuroscientist residing outside North America (including Korea) who wishes to participate in promoting research and education in Neurosciences and to interact with regular members in North America is eligible. A regular member who moves out of North America is automatically eligible to become an overseas member.

Section 4. Membership fees.
Regular members may be charged an annual membership fee. The membership fee shall be approved by a simple majority of votes at the Council meeting.

The Association membership shall meet annually at a place, date, and hour designated by the Council. This meeting shall take place during the period of the Annual Meeting of the Society for Neuroscience. Special meetings of the membership may be called by the Council.

Section 1. Officers.
The Association shall have four Officers: the President; the President Elect; the Executive Secretary; and the Treasurer.

Section 2. Election of officers.
All Officers shall be nominated by Council and elected biannually by a simple majority of votes of participating members at the annual meeting, and shall serve for a term of two years.


Section 3. The President.
The President shall be the chief executive officer of the Association, shall be responsible for all business of the Association and shall act as spokesperson for the Association.


Section 4. The President-elect.
The President-elect shall work with the President to support and master the President’s duties. The President-elect shall remain as the President-elect until the current term of officers has ended, even when the office of the President is vacant or the President is unable to serve.


Section 5. The Executive Secretary.
Executive Secretary shall assist the President. The Executive Secretary shall substitute for the President in case of absence or inability to serve. Should the office of the President become vacant, the Executive Secretary shall assume the duties of the President until a new President is elected. Should the office of Executive Secretary become vacant, the President shall appoint a new Executive Secretary for the remaining term of office.

Section 6. The Treasurer.
The Treasurer shall be responsible for all fiscal matters of the Association. The President shall appoint a new Treasurer for the remaining term should the office of Treasurer become vacant.

The Association's affairs shall be conducted through a Council.

Section 1. Members of Council.
The Council shall consist of the President, the
Executive Secretary, the Treasurer, and Councilors.

Section 2. Election of Councilors.
Councilors are volunteer regular members who participate in Association activities actively and may include previous officers. Newly elected Officers shall recruit Councilors from active Regular members. They shall serve for a term of two years.

The President may appoint or designate members of the Association to serve as members of a Committee to carry out specific tasks of the Association and advise the officers as deemed appropriate.

The bylaws may be amended by a simple majority of votes by the Council.

(adopted original bylaws in 1988, the first amendment was made on November 19, 1996, and the second amendment
, October 13, 2011)


Copyright © 2020 akneuro.org. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.