Home About AKN
AKN Meeting 2002

AKN 2002 Annual Meeting Summary

The 2nd Annual AKN Symposium was held on Saturday (9:30 AM - 4:30 PM), November 2, 2002 at the Orange County Convention Center, Room 202A, located in Orlando, Florida, where the 32nd Annual Society for Neuroscience (SFN) Meeting was also held (11/2 through 11/7). Dinner (6-9 PM) was held at the KOREA GARDEN restaurant (Tel: 407-767-9363) following the symposium.(# of people at the Symposium: over 50; # of people at the dinner: over 100)

Keynote Speakers (4) and Poster session (25 posters):
PLENARY SESSION: William D. Willis, Jr., M.D., Ph.D.
Cecil H. and Ida M. Green
Chair and Chair, Department of Anatomy & Neurosciences
Director, Marine Biomedical Institute
University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, TX 77555

Seminar Title: "Is Central Sensitization a Spinal Cord Form of LTP?"
Comment: Dr. Willis is a former President of The Society for Neuroscience

Zang Hee Cho, Ph.D.
Professor, Departments of Radiological Sciences and of Psychiatry & Human Behavior
College of Medicine, University of California
Irvine, CA 92697

Lecture Title: "Roles of Functional Brain Imaging in Modern Neuroscience - From Cognitive Neuroscience to Acupuncture"
Comment: Dr. Cho is the inventor of PET scan and a pioneer of MRI. He is currently a Member of US National Academy of Sciences, Institute of Medicine and also a member of National Academy of Sciences - Republic of Korea.

Uhtaek Oh, Ph.D.
Sensory Research Center, CRI,
Seoul National University,
Seoul, Korea

Lecture Title: "Hot Channel in the Pain Sensing System"

Jae-Young Koh, Ph.D.
CRI Center for the Study of CNS Zinc,
University of Ulsan
College of Medicine,
Ulsan, Korea

Lecture Title: "Zinc and Disease of the Brain"

Recipients of 2002 AKN Awards:

AKN President Outstanding Research Hanwha Award Postdoc: Young-Hui Chang, Ph.D. of Emory University
AKN President Outstanding Research SK Award Graduate Student: Yoon-Seong Kim of Cornell University
AKN Outstanding Research Award Graduate Student: Sang Mi Lee of Yonsei University

New and Old Officers
The new AKN officers for the upcoming year are:

President Dr. Kwang Soo Kim, Harvard University
Secretary Dr. Un J. Kang, University of Chicago
Treasurer TBA
Newsletter Editor Dr. Tong Hyon Lee, Duke University Medical Center

With the introduction of the new officers, the tremendous job done by the previous officers is gratefully acknowledged:

President Dr. Young Il Kim, University of Virginia
Secretary Dr. Jin H. Son, Cornell Medical College
Treasurer Dr. Darrick Kim, University of Illinois
Newsletter Editor

Dr. Tong Hyon Lee, Duke University Medical Center


Copyright © 2020 akneuro.org. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.