AKN Annual Meeting Announcement 2021

  • September 26, 2021 at 11:01 pm #839
    AKN Admin

    AKN annual meeting announcement_2021_1st [PDF]

    Dear friends and colleagues,

    On behalf of the AKN (Association of Korean Neuroscientists in America https://www.akneuro.org), we announce the 2021 AKN annual meeting and AKN Research Awards. This meeting will be co-hosted by KSBNS, IBS and KBRI.

    Please help us disseminate this information by sharing with colleagues in your institution or elsewhere. We would greatly appreciate your help.

    AKN Meeting:
    • Location: Online – This meeting will be held online
    • Date: November 15, 2021 (Monday)
    • Time: 7:00 – 9:00 PM (eastern time)
    Note: The details of the meeting’s format and ZOOM link will be provided in the 2nd announcement in early November. Please mark the date for now.

    AKN Outstanding Research Awards:
    We will present AKN Outstanding Research Awards in four different categories:
    Postdoctoral abroad, Postdoctoral in Korea, Pre-doctoral abroad, and Pre-doctoral in Korea. The number of awards may vary, depending on the number of qualified applicants and the availability of funding. Each award recipient will receive a $400 prize along with an award certificate.

    Award recipients will be selected according to 1) the quality of their 2021 SfN abstract or first-author paper* published since January 1, 2020 and 2) their research accomplishments during the current career status.
    An award recipient must be virtually present at the award ceremony (if not, the awardee will be disqualified).
    *First-author paper: In lieu of your 2021 SfN abstract, you may submit your ‘best’ first-author paper (only one) published since January 1, 2020. If your paper is a part of your doctoral or postdoctoral work and your status has been changed after January 1, 2020 (e.g., graduate student to postdoc), you can choose your award category on the basis of your previous status. Please clearly indicate it in your email when you apply.

    Junior Faculty Award: There is a special category for the Junior Faculty Award. One or two winners will be selected from junior members (2-6 years of faculty appointment) at the rank of Assistant Professor or an equivalent level at an academic or research institution in North America. We will give special emphasis to the applicant’s academic and scientific accomplishments as an independent principal investigator (e.g., senior-author publication, R01, seminars etc.).

    The winner will be invited to present their work orally at the meeting and given a $1,000 prize. A full CV should be sent to Dr. Jungsu Kim (jk123@iu.edu).

    Deadline – October 25, 2021 (Monday)

    What to send
    • a full CV (including complete publication record) for all applicants
    • a copy of your first-author paper or the SfN abstract for poster/oral presentation and related information (e.g., presentation time) for student and postdoctoral applicants – not necessary for Junior Faculty Award applicants.
    The format of the application material – one PDF file.

    Disqualifications – 1) previous winners of the same category awards; 2) applicants who are over-qualified (over 6 years in the current position, appointment to a higher position for longer than 2 years than the category applied, etc.); and 3) non-presenting author of the abstract (for students/postdoctoral applicants).

    Application should be sent as e-mail attachments to:
    • Dr. ChiHye Chung (neuro@ksbns.org) if you are from an institute located in Korea.
    • Dr. Jungsu Kim (jk123@iu.edu), if you are from an institute located outside Korea including the US.
    • AKN Website: Please visit our website at https://www.akneuro.org for further information and updated announcements.

    We encourage you to also look at ads and available positions in the AKN website above, which were from the sponsors and AKN faculty members.

    We hope to see you all at the AKN Virtual annual meeting in November.

    Best wishes,

    Daewoo Lee, Ph.D.
    AKN Co-President (2020-2021)
    Professor of Neurobiology
    Dept. of Biological Sciences
    Ohio University
    E-mail: leed1@ohio.edu